2019

Set in the Gothic South of the 1950s, The Child in the Garden tells the story of Caroline, a young woman who must leave the secluded life she’s known when the son she put up for adoption mysteriously disappears and Caroline realizes she’s the only one who can find him.


Caroline is sixteen years old when she gives birth to a baby boy. His father is the charming Artie, son of a local preacher and her first love, who wants life to go on as before.  Pressured by her attentive and controlling grandmother and not wishing to upset Artie’s religious family, Caroline reluctantly leaves her son at an orphanage. Her life then takes on a quiet and solitary predictability except for one secret: each time her son laughs a flower blooms in her garden to reassure her that he is well. For seven years her garden fills with paper-whites and roses, so plentiful they spill out into the street. But when the flowers begin to wilt in the spring of 1953, Caroline knows she must leave the confines of her life to find him.


Determined to make up for the past, Artie joins Caroline as she travels across the South in search of their son. Familial tensions resurface as each must confront the difference between their conservative upbringing and what they feel they must do. The journey will take them through muddy tobacco fields and moss-filled swamps and into the center of a child trafficking ring.  Clues run thin as a hurricane approaches, and Caroline must decide whether to believe that her son is gone or risk everything in the storm.


THE CHILD IN THE GARDEN is at once a testament to the power of maternal love and feminine strength, a case for the necessity of redemption and forgiveness, and a coming-of-age story full of quotidian magic, mystery, and heart.  It will appeal to fans of Helen Oyeyemi’s Boy, Snow, Bird and Delia Owens' Where the Crawdads Sing

 
Untitled

Rebecca Rose Moody

Author

Rebecca Rose Moody lives in a woodland garden in the heart of Nashville. After graduating Phi Beta Kappa from Sewanee, she lived in France before returning to her hometown where she and her husband built a tiny house in their backyard, which is now one of the most popular Airbnbs in the country. When she's not inn-keeping, chasing her babies, or gardening, she's writing words and music about how much she loves the world. Her works of non-fiction, fiction, and poetry have appeared in Sing Out! online, New Millennium Writings, Hamilton Stone Review, and EcoTheo Review, among others.

 

Get In Touch

Nashville, TN 37211

 
Posts Are Coming Soon
Stay tuned...
 

©2019 by Rebecca Rose Moody. Proudly created with Wix.com

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now